GRE ISSUE: People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, .....

KINDLY RATE ON A SCALE OF 0-6

OTHER REVIEWS ARE ALSO WELCOME

"People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it."

With great power comes great responsibility. Powerful people are revered when they use their powers responsibly and for the right reasons, be it exercising the power or refraining from using it. It is only when powers are used with discretion that they elicit respect.

Consider the case of nuclear weapons. Having witnessed the impact of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings, the world has not only dreaded the use of nuclear weapons but also execrated them. The weapons were so powerful that people of Japan are still coping with the after effects of this act. Several people are suffering from hereditary disorders that are a result of the bombings. When enormous powers like these are utilised for negative reasons like war, people do not respect the powerful. This is the reason why nations like USA, India have refrained from using nuclear weapons. In choosing not to utilise powers that have the potential to obliterate the entire world, nations like these have definitely gained the respect of the world.

Conversely, like refraining from using destructive power is a venerated act, so is utilising constructive power. History has been witness to great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru who had been exceptionally influential in leading Indians to their independence. It is powerful personalities like these that people look up to and also try to emulate. When one has the power to influence something good, he/she is greatly respected in doing so. Not only political leaders, but also other powerful personalities who are celebrated and famous in their fields, be it sports, cinema, medicine, etc. have the responsibility of contributing in a positive way to the society. The impact that these celebrities have over the masses is huge and hence must be cashed upon. For example people will be more willing to give up smoking if this thought is advocated by a famous celebrity they look up to. This kind of positive use of fame and influential power is a respectable act on the part of the powerful.

In conclusion, powers that are used with discretion for the betterment of the masses are sure to elicit respect for the powerful. The powerful must know to utilise constructive power and refrain from using destructive power in order to gain the respect of the people.