GRE issue 40 Scholars and academic inquiry and research

Did I digress in composition? How about the analysis?

Thank you for reading and your advice!

TOPIC: ISSUE40 - "Scholars and researchers should not be concerned with whether their work makes a contribution to the larger society. It is more important that they pursue their individual interests, however unusual or idiosyncratic those interests may seem."

The speaker seems to suggest that the process of pursuing one's interests is much important than the final results of researches. I totally agree with the speaker on both counts, for merely concentration on the benefits brought by scholars and researches will impede the development of scientific study, and for the way that researches pursue their individuals' interests will result in great merits. In the following discussion, I would present evidence to support my standpoint.

As a threshold matter, it must be admitted that contribution to society made by scientific works can not be predicted. Since significant benefit might be caused not by the initial theory, but by the consequent inventions and discoveries based on the previous. And if people only concern the results of researches and studies, then the idea and concept will lead to a trend in inhibiting fields of which benefit can not be predicted at present due to peoples' limited knowledge and ability. Thus, the cloned lamb, Dolly which makes the treatment of hemophilia be possible, will never be created, for during the study people did not contend that it will be a milestone of new era in biology and in medicine.

Furthermore, people, from students to adults, can learn a great deal from preeminent scholars in arts who have succeeded in going after their interests. First, these eminent researchers set good examples, which will stimulate students' motivation, for students to be in the pursuit of their dreams and interests. For example, the achievements of the famous dancers, Ulnova who was without classical dancing body and whose success was attributable to her hard working, inform us: how much you pay, how much you will get.

What's more, artistic scholars' experiences will encourage adults, who face difficulties and hard tasks, being brave to address the problems. There is no denying that every person will meet difficulties and will need encouragement, yet history gives good lessons to them. For instance, the success of Beethoven, who overcame his deafness and made an impression on people by his strong-willed nature, tells us to seize the throat of the fate and not to give up.

Finally, the development of scientific researches can be improved by previous failure which can be regarded as valueless reference materials. For example, the paradox of "Achilles and Tortoises" in mathematic area led to the first crises in math and stimulated the new theories about the continuance in time and space, which finally demonstrated the mistakes in "Achilles and Tortoises".

To sum up, focusing on the contribution from outcomes made by scholars and researchers will impede the development of sciences and arts, and it is essential to emphasis the process of pursuing one's interests.