GRE issue 153 skepticism in studying

Learning is a life long process. From the minute we are born, study is destined to accompany us for a whole life. As students often get confused or misled in the pursuing of knowledge, some people points out, instead of taking in passively, students should think whatever they are taught with skepticism. Though not fully agree with it, I do think this view gives light to our current problems in school education.

Of course, it takes little pains and efforts to accept; no matter it is an object or knowledge. When sitting in the classroom, due to innate indolence or afraid to challenging authority, students are more likely to just write down what are on the board and buy it. However, in the long run, students will find they gradually degrade into study machines that do not have their own ideas, even worse; a loss of judgment may deeply frustrate them when faced with situations that need to make choice.

Facing with this prevailing problem in school education, learning with skepticism is encouraged, which benefits students in thinking actively. Though it takes time and energy, students will gain much through the process of thinking about the credibility or truth of what they are taught. First, the knowledge are not all fully testified and flawless, the active skeptical learning make students to think critically and sometimes find existing false. It is through skeptical thinking and thorough analysis that many discoveries and conceptions in history are corrected by later people, or else, there will be no real advance in pursuing truth. Second, skeptical thinking process exercise students' brain to make judgment and distinguish right from wrong, which is indispensable to an independent thinker. In order to compare and contrast, people often have to view things from different angles and various aspects, which will sharpen their minds. As a result, students will think more completely by taking many possible factors in their decision. Moreover, learning with skepticism also prompts students to explore more after class by themselves. Usually it is far from enough to persuade students themselves just by reading the materials in books, so after-class researches are necessary so as to be well-informative to make judgment. As they know more, they are offered more methods. This active study will help students not only to extend their knowledge but also invoke creative ideas and unconventional thinking.

Admittedly, overdue skepticism prohibits students to learn knowledge, which is harmful to their knowledge accumulation. If he has doubt on whatever he is studying, it is helpless as well as wastes time and energy, for no one can possibly gather enough evidence to convince him. As for a primary stage learner, whose basic knowledge and experience are limited, it is better for them to be guided under proper instruction first. When basic knowledge is gained and solid foundation is laid, they can start for their own expeditions in truth.

In brief, studying in a skeptical and active way is of great significance to learners, which contributes to critical thinking, sharp mind and creative ideas. Of course, to be doubtable on everything is totally unnecessary.