[GRE Issue task] Sports stars & movie stars have obligation to behave as roll models

Written in 30 minutes.

The prompt:

"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing & supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

My response:

The showbiz and sports world attract people, more specifically the young people, by their inherent glamour and excitement. The most prominent actors in this arena, namely the stars, are regarded as role models by most of the young generation. They follow the habits, hair styles, speaking styles and certain other activities of these stars. As a result, the stars achieve the rare ability to influence the young generation easily to be like a particular kind of person. With this great ability comes a great responsibility - to motivate the young people to be good and to do good. From this consideration, I agree to the claim of the author that we should expect the stars to fulfill their social responsibility.

A star, be it a movie star or a sports star, has the envious opportunity to be admired by a large mass of young people. Though they achieve this opportunity by giving strenuous effort to fulfill their duty as an actor or as a sportsman, the scale of admiration, respect is very large. This large scale of reverence and admiration should not go unpaid. The stars have an unstated obligation to influence the people, they are admired by, to be a good citizen and a good person. They should set good examples to be followed by those young admirers. For example, a famous actor in a subcontinental country had a habit of smoking once; he used to smoke in public. A lot of his admirers adopted this habit. After several years, a lot of parents urged to him, through newspapers and magazines, to not to smoke in public. The actor gave up smoking. After his declaration of giving up smoking, there was a trend among young people in that country to give up smoking just to appear smarter to their girlfriends. So, a single good action by a star can fulfill a social responsibility without harming their image.

Stars earn a lot of money. It cannot be denied that this large amount of money goes to them for their effort and brilliance in acting or sporting activities, but they should fulfill the social responsibility too because it is the society that they are affecting to get that large amount of money. If a star pay his/her tax timely, a lot of people will be encouraged to pay tax timely just to follow their icon.

Although the stars have responsibility towards their admirers, it should not be forgotten that - in the end - they are like us - the people in society. They should have their own way of leading their life. The responsibility to society should not be imposed on them as a burden. They earn the money by hard work and they have the right to spend it in their own way as well as live their lives as they wish.

The stars get attendance, admiration, focus, and a lot of money. Though they get these things by their effort, they should not forget their responsibility to society, becayse It is the society that is giving them all these things.