The issue as to whether some types of food advertisements should be prohibited remains controversial

IELTS T2:

Advertising for food products should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Topic: Researchers show that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, advertising for food products should be banned in the same way as the cigarette advertising is banned in many countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, many adopt a view that overeating is a detrimental problem which increases morbidity and mortality like smoking does, and the governments should accordingly take proactive actions. However, the issue as to whether some types of food advertisements should be prohibited remains controversial. In my opinion, although imposing bans on food commercials would be effective to some what extent, it is over-simplistic to say that such approach could address the problem.

There is no point in denying that commercials can effect, change or even mold youngers' thoughts. Behavioral studies have indicated that in contemporary society, the more excessive exposure to advertisements, the stronger association between non-nutritious food advertisements and childhood obesity rate. This is attributed to the fact that most children at schooling ages are not cautious of information intendedly disseminated by advertisers; thereby, giving preferences to advertised food regardless of their ingredients. For instance, statics have shown that children who spend more than three hours on television with integrated unhealthy food advertisements are 50% more likely to be obese comparing to peers watching less than two hours. This example demonstrates that excessive exposure to advertisement somehow has stimulated the consumption of unhealthy food in children. Hence, legislators should institute restrictions on advertisements targeting at young viewers to protect this vulnerable group.

Nevertheless, the root-cause of binge eating is mainly derived from subjective factors rather than objective ones like advertisements. Psychological researches have pointed that those who are struggling with stress, anxiety, depression or frustration are prone to food over-consumption, because some food can arouse brain to release endorphin which is a naturally produced opioid in the body to enhance excitement, boost pleasure, relieve stress and kill pain. Furthermore, since eating could give the feeling of euphoria, neuroscientists have determined over-eating as a psychological disease of eating disorder, commonly found among those contracting mental problem resulted from fast-pace of life or fierce working environment. Therefore, at the heart of this matter is the personally internal elements of managing stress and balancing life.

In conclusion, emphasizing on forbidding food advertisement may not completely solve the problem. Given that some of subjective factors are in need of being taken into account, the authorities should thoughtfully re-consider before taking appropriate actions.

370 words.