GRE Issue Task: well-being of a country's citizens measures leader effectiveness

Issue Task:

The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Prompt:

According to the author, the examination of the well-being of a country's citizens is the best measure of a effectiveness of a country's leaders. The statement holds true for contemporary world as well. Some may disagree with the author because external forces can disrupt the well-being of a country citizens despite of fact that the country is lead by an effective leadership. However, I disagree and I have substantial reasons to support my position. A few include:

First, it is crucial for a country growth that the leaders appointed have leadership qualities and problem solving skills. If a leader is ineffective, then the nation suffers. For example, Hilter showed excellent leadership at the onset, however, his rigidness caused the downfall of Germany. If he could have been complacent, then Germany would not have suffered a terrible fate. So, a country development, peace is in the hands of the nation leader.

Moreover, the rapid growth of developed countries such as, United States and China is a result of effective leadership. These countries were able to showcase growth in every sphere, for example, techonology, education, living standard. The leadership were able to understand both the country's citizens needs and the development needs. It is also evident from the lifestyle of these countries citizens that the country's leaders have left no stone unturned to be effective.

On the other hand, there are some scenario's where-in a country's citizens well-being has not been a true indicator of the effectiveness of the country's leaders. For example, Africa is still considered a under developed country and most people are below poverty line. Now, Africa has effective leaders and they have been trying their best to uplift the country status. However, the growth is not at a rapid scale as the measures adopted will take time to recover from the impact the economy had in the past years. So, a few times a country's leadership effectiveness cannot be measured wholly on the basis on well-being of the country's people.

To sum up, the effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country citizens.

I will be really great if someone could point out errors/ mistakes in the above essay prompt. Any other suggestions are also welcomed.