ISU essay on the novel Middlesex

We first see Cal encounter difficult times as a young girl due to her inability to develop in the same way as the other girls, and also because of the physical attraction she finds herself having for other girls. This makes for a challenging time in Cal's life because her lack of chest makes for a lack in confidence, which makes her feel the need to hide during shower time during gym in order to avoid embarrassment. Also, Cal's attraction to a classmate that he refers to as the Obscure Object makes for a difficult time emotionally as she "enters the body of Rex Reese" while Rex and the Object are fooling around. Since Cal isn't the one physically touching her, he claims, " I didn't have to feel guilty, didn't have to ask myself if I was having unnatural desires. How could I be when I was on the other cot fooling around with Jerome?" (Eugenides 375). Almost everyone has experienced a moment of insecurity, and some have even questioned their sexual preference. These are not just issues a hermaphrodite would face but issues that everyone faces, therefore it helps the audience connect with Cal's character. Eugenides portrays these scenarios to his audience to show that as long as an individual is uncomfortable in their own skin they will not find happiness for themselves.

It isn't long after Cal is faced with these emotional struggles that we see him face an even greater problem that arises. His disorder is discovered and after reading his specialists diagnoses he does some research of his own. When he looks his disorder up in the dictionary it refers him to " see synonyms at MONSTER." (Eugenides 470). This is obviously a very traumatic situation for Cal, but his parents try and down play it to him and explain that there is a surgery that would allow him to function in everyday life as a female without anyone knowing what happened. Through the discover of his disorder Cal is beginning to understand why he is the way he is, and doesn't want to avoid it, but learn more about it therefore he runs away. They say the traumatic events we face help as grow as a person and give us a strength that we never knew was there, and this is what Eugendies demonstrates through this situation of Cal's. Although Cal may not accept his condition, the strength that he shows to escape from the false identity that was " Callie" shows that he is able to understand.

Finally, through the recounting of her family story Cal is able to find a balance between her two selves and peace with her condition. It is because of her acceptance and understanding of herself that she is able to open up to Julie and tell her about his condition. In the end, he finds out that his condition does not bother and when they go back to have their first intimate relationship Cal asks Julie, " "I might be your last stop, too" I said, clinging to her "Did you ever think of that?" And Julie Kikuchi answered, "It crossed my mind.""(Eugenides 415). Eugenides shows that once Cal no longer felt the need to run from herself and finally able to accept her difference that he was finally able to establish a "last stop".

In Jeffrey Eugenides novel, Middlesex, he shows us that it is only once we learn to accept ourselves that we can be accepted and loved by others. He illustrates this through Cal's growth as a person through his confusion with his sexual preference and lack of comfort in his own skin, as well with his traumatic discover of his disorder in which he begins to understand himself, and eventually to the recounting of his family story which allows him to find balance between both halves and open himself up to a relationship with Julie. Coming-of-age is a difficult time for anyone, and this novel reminds us how challenging of a time adolescence is for everyone.