IELTS Writing Task 2 : Should a job be chosen based on salary?

Q.

When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people choose their profession based on the amount of money they can earn from it. To certain extent I agree with this notion, however, I also believe that one should consider other factors while determining their job.

Every job has numerous areas that a job seeker needs to carefully examine. Firstly, a job should be considered only in the persons's field of interest. Choosing a job (with little to no knowledge or experience) based on rumors of high-return will only turn out to be detrimental for one's career. Secondly, one should also think about the work environment in the organization. The level of satisfaction that one gains from a job is largely determined by the nature of their colleagues and leader in the group. Apparently, surrounding oneself with trustworthy and supportive friends in the workplace helps the person to achieve greater success in their profession.

All aforementioned things need to be considered while searching for a job,however it is unwise to rule out the monetary factor. After all, money is required for the fulfillment of our basic needs of food, water and accommodation. At a time where the cost of all forms of services including that of health, education and entertainment are ever rising, it becomes further important for people to earn more than just for their basic necessities in order to sustain their quality of life. Apart from this, people who are underpaid or have a low salary jobs get frequently in trouble with money lenders and landlords. In the end, having to deal regularly with them and many other unpaid bills as well causes stress and other mental issues in the person.

In conclusion, the salary is as much important as rest of the factors while looking for a suitable job. Considering it properly during a job selection allows one to live a prosperous life with less stress from money-related problems.