[IELTS task2] Job for a few years between school and university

Prompt: some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, it is popular between young people to start working between the finish of the school and the beginning of the university. This choice may have advantages and disadvantages.

The main argument in favour of starting a job before university is that you will earn money, which let you to get independence. Therefore, you will be able to pay the rent for your house on your own and make work experiences. You might also save part of that money in order to pay the university fee afterwards. Besides, you would have much more time to decide what you want to study and with which purpose. From my point of view, take time is a good choice especially for people who are ensure about their academic and job future.

On the other hand, the general view is that working before get the university might be a waste of time. It is certainly true that taking time help to decide but the risk is that the academic courses that you would attend might be changed or dropped. In addition, the later you get a degree the later you entry into the labour market. That is because, companies, generally, prefer younger people with and excellent curriculum vitae.

All in all, it is sure that there are many points in favour and against to start a job between the high school and the university. I think that the important thing is to be aware of this issue and make the decision that best suits your personal situation.