IELTS 2: Will all jobs eventually be done by artificially intelligent robots? Human vs machine.

AI is likely to replace repetitive jobs

Prompt:

Some people believe that eventually all jobs will be done by artificially intelligent robots. What is your opinion?

Answer: The development of artificial intelligence has given rise to the fear that all occupations will one day be replaced by robots. This essay will argue that although some jobs may be automated, others cannot be done by machines.

Dull and dangerous jobs are likely to be done by robots in the future. Robots that do repetitive tasks tend to require less complex programming and are, therefore, less expensive. They can be cost-effective tools to deal with monotonous tasks. In fact, some markets have already replaced cashiers with check-out machines. Artificially intelligent robots may also do work in toxic environments in the place of human workers.

However, some other jobs can never be done by machines. One example is professions that require creativity. This is because robots only carry out program instructions; they cannot generate new ideas. For example, fiction writers are unlikely to lose their job to AIs, because creativity lies at the very heart of their profession. Also, innovative engineers who develop new features for robots will not be replaced.

Jobs that entail high communication skills can only be done by humans, too. For instance, psychology consultants provide clients with emotional care. Requiring experience and sharp instincts, the job is unlikely, if not impossible, to be acquired by robots.

To conclude, in the next few years, AI is likely to replace repetitive jobs at an intimidating speed. But this does not mean it will make everyone unemployed, because jobs that involve creativity and interpersonal skills cannot be automated.