IELTS TASK 2 : IS JUDGING PERSONALITY FROM CLOTHES RIGHT TO BE JUSTIFIED?

Some people say that the clothes people wear are the most important indication of what they are like. Others, however, say that people should not be judged by the clothes they wear.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today's thousands of mode represent that people in the world become more concerned in their style of clothing. Regarding to this, several people believe that human's wardrobe is the best tool to indicate someone's characteristic. Otherwise, I personally believe that it is wrong to describe everyone's personality by seeing only to clothes that are being worn.

Supporters who think of the clothes function in detecting human's characteristics mainly argue for some references for that statement. One reference explains that colours can express a general view of a man. For example, bright colours are popular with a person who is cheerful and happy-go-lucky. By contrast, dark sensation, such as grey, brown, and black, are related to a group of people who are mysterious and cool. Another reference of these judges shows that people's neat tidiness in wearing costumes could visualise their responses towards rules in a particular environment. Those, who are neat, are acknowledged excellent in keeping obedience.

On the other side, I would argue that it is unfair to merely consider clothes to judge others' personality. The reason for this is human's character is determined by abstract components, such as behaviours, habits, and thoughts. These things regenerate from heredity, knowledge, and experiences. To illustrate, it is common to misjudge a person who is good looking and diligent, but behind all his shown characteristiccs, he likes to drink alcohol and shout out in his parents' faces. Besides, inner factors are more appropiate to be responsible on this case. Therefore, this proves that it is not that simple to judge people's personality by assessing their appearance.

In essence, even though some people tend to conclude main points of others' personalities through their clothes, it is obvious that several factors are more significant in illustrating people's characters. I suggest that society should change their ways to predict characteristics from clothes.