"Justice can only exist when people obey laws that are not to their liking."

This is a 45-min analytical writting question example for the GRE.

If laws that are not to peoples' liking, not obeyed, there will be no justice. People's lack of adherence to laws that are not to their advantage is the reason for the justice system. The essence of justice is that every individual's rights and property are protected. There is no justice when people break the law which is made evident by the people's need for a court system. In places where people do not need to obey laws, there is a high violation of human rights. Human predisposition for selfishness is a powerful counteractive force to the existence of justice.

Humans, like all living entities, favor themselves over others. It is genetically favorable to behave this way, and to an extent, a survival mechanism. This instinct to survive is influential to the degree that people willingly violate a law to satisfy their drive for something even if it has no bearing on their survival. The Menendez brothers murdered both of their parents in order to inherit all that they own, despite the lavish lifestyle the brothers were already living. If people were permitted to behave freely chaos would follow.

Crime and human rights violations are higher in societies that do not follow laws. What motivates perpetrators to commit anything from minor offences to crimes against humanity is personal gain which comes at a loss to the party being victimized. Currently in Darfur, Sudan, there is a massacre taking place. The government chooses not to follow laws set forth by the UN because of its desire for more power. The result is a complete obliteration of justice made overt by the slaughter of thousands. Only through potentially paying a cost greater than the benefit of breaking the law justice will pervade.

Degree of punishment is the ultimate determinant in the manifestation of justice. The degree of justice is inversely proportional to the crime rate which is determined by the severity of penalties. Singapore employs very harsh punishments towards people who choose not follow a law: varying from inflicting physical pain to capital punishment. Its crime rate is a fraction of what it is in the rest of the first world indicating that the degree of justice there is relatively high.

Eliminating people's ability to interact would eliminate the need for obedience. If people cannot come into contact whatsoever then it does not make a difference whether they obey or not since they cannot violate each others rights. In an insane asylum there are people living in solitary confinement and so long as they remain in their area they do not threaten anyone's else's rights; justice may exist.

Interaction between people is an inevitable component of life and where there are interactions, violations will occur. Therefore, in order for there to be justice in such a setting, laws must be obeyed especially when they are not to one's advantage.