Essays: The juvenile crime rate is growing in metropolises around the globe

Crimes committed by young people are increasing in major cities throughout the world

It is an alarming fact that the juvenile crime rate is growing in metropolises around the globe recently. Although there are some underlying causes of this concerning phenomenon, some measures can be adopted to tackle the problem.

The main and perhaps the most persuasive explanation for this tendency would be the lack of parental concern and attention. Without control, people at young age are very impressionable and have little ability to resist temptation in a world strewed with traps and pitfalls. As a result, youngsters will be easily lured into partaking in committing crimes by social convicts. To deal with this, it is of utter importance that parents must take the responsibility to spend time in their own busy lives to make sure that their children are looked after and orientated the right direction.

Another vital factor which triggers the increase in youth-perpetrated crime is the unemployment. In this day and age, there is influx of immigrants into cities with hopes of earning their living, mostly young adult. Nevertheless, they will soon suffer from disillusion of city life with the harsh realities of unemployment and poverty - the only choice for them is turning to crimes such as burglar or robbery so as to get money. A practical measure that could be taken on this front is that governments should have job creation schemes which are suitable with each's capacity to aid them have subsistence wages.

In conclusion, while the escalation in crimes undertaken by young people is worrying, by applying some steps the problem can be considerably diminished, if not altogether eliminated.