'Keep healthy and don't eat junk' - Convenience foods vs traditional foods

Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no doubt that convenience foods have gained in popularity over recent years. Thus, many people hold an opinion that this type of food is likely to replace traditional ones as well as conventional methods of cooking progress. However, to my viewpoint, I am convinced that traditional foods will not be substituted because their benefits for people's health and their vital role in maintaining traditional culture.

The first aspect I want to point out is that people are able to keep healthy if they eat traditional foods. When it comes to conventional methods, people will involve in the whole process of cooking, so they can guarantee that these foods are of good quality. For instance, my mother always choose fresh fishes or organic vegetables to prepare meals, hence, all of foods she makes contain sufficient nutrients. On the contrary, beforehand- prepared foods are usually added chemical substances to make them fresh longer; this potentially causes diseases for people such as cancer. Therefore, I am sure that people will keep eating traditional foods for the sake of their health.

Another point I would like to mention is that traditional foods are specialities of each region. Accordingly, these foods which date back to many years ago need to be maintained. Take Sushi in Japan for example. This special food plays an important part of Japanese's meal. Annually, Sushi festivals are held throughout the Land of rising sun with the aim of encouraging people to know how this food is made. Besides, Sushi restaurants can be found in lots of Western or Asian countries, which prove the prevalence of it. As this example makes clear, traditional foods are still favored by many people.

To summarize, as far as I am concerned, despite the dominance of convenience foods, traditional ones will not be replaced owing to their merits for people's health as well as traditional cultures.