TOEFL; Keep your old friends or form new friends?

Friends are valuable for the majority of people. Friendships are formed firstly in childhood and their importance is recognised by science. Types of friendships vary so are the numbers of them from times to times. Whether or not it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends is something subjective to circumstances and character changes.

Childhood friendships begin in a time of passions, excitement, creation of characters and are somehow irreplaceable. It is difficult people to form such strong bonds as they did in their young innocent years. As if people lose their ability to trust people so blindfoldedly once and making ten times as difficult to acquire people that would belong to their close friend circle.

Nevertheless, people change due to various factors. When they finish their college studies, work and luck of time makes it more difficult to withhold some friendships or maintain their quality. Later on when people get married and have children responsibilities and luck of time are accompanied by change of needs. Thus, strong adolescent friendships could alter in strength and dynamic.

Sometimes, due to the above reasons people have the need to create new friendships. Old ones seem to be inadequate to fill newly recognised wishes. Of course, having new friends don't necessary exclude maintaining the old ones. Good organisation of time and good will could include everyone. As long as the qualities of frienship are met: mutual affection,sympathy, empathy, honesty, altruism, mutual understanding and compassion, enjoyment of each other's company, trust, and the ability to be oneself, express one's feelings, and make mistakes without fear of judgment from the friend.