'And what doesn't kill..' - childhood memory- survival of the fittest

I was starting to get tired and anxious to return home to get in bed, it was a long day. Mom finally got the $20 she'd set out to get after sitting at the corner down town across from bank of America. She was so happy which made me happy of course. But while waiting for the bus to take us home I did something that made mom so upset she slapped my face, boy did it hurt. Shortly after a lady sitting across from us told mom that was not okay. Which made her even more mad at me. "When we get home I'm going to hit you to death." She snapped at me in Chinese.

Afraid of what was to come when I got home, walking slow behind her in the dark as she pushed my 1 year old brother in the stroller. As tired as I was, I would have rather kept walking then to get home at that point.

She unlocks the door and stands in the door way waiting for me to enter. As I walk in she pulls me by the hair as she starts to beat me up, as she looks for the broom I dash to the far corner in my room and cover my head. After getting wacked with the broom a few too many times I hear the neighbor knocking. Talk about saved by the bell. Mom opens the door and he barks at her "I've called the cops bitch and they're on their way!"

He told the truth, they came and took my brother and I. I begged them not to take us, urging them that she only hits us when were in trouble. But the cop was trying to speak to my mom telling her 'It's your 3rd strike Ms. Ching, they're going to a foster home.' I was scared of where we were going without mom to take care of us. Yet a little relieved at the same time.

So many foster homes such little time, All I can remember was the lady being so overweight she had to sit all day all the while forcing us to sit all day too! And watch Nickalodian, the only time we were allowed up was if needed the bathroom or to eat, which serving portions were for like 2 adults! "Once you finish you can drink." She'd say. I was thirsty I lied and said I needed the bathroom to drink out of the faucet. Thank God I was we only there for a few weeks!

The Foster system finally found me a permanent home after going through 2 emergency ones.

I seemed like a dream come true. A Big house, big back yard, nice people. The lady there even made me this yummy cereal called oatmeal. It was the life! There I learned basic manners, saying please and thank you, chewing with your mouth closed burping with my mouth closed ect. Every Sunday we'd go to church, then Wednesday church, then Friday church then Saturday church. As I started getting older it started getting annoying. Then I want to get a radio in Jr high but was not allowed to since it was not "pleasing to God" Then I wasn't allowed to wear shorts higher then my knees! Or Strap tops. Then on weekends I had to write essays from a book with stories of 'Jesus freaks.' It was getting to be too extreme so I spoke to my social worker to get me out of there.

Forth foster home was very cool first year in high school I finally got to wear shorts to school, made some friend even their 14 year adopted daughter were funny. I remember Vie running up and down the halls naked because she didn't take her ADD pills. Not long after that first summer I had to move because one of their 6 year old foster daughters claimed our foster dad molested her. So it was 'unsafe.'

5th foster home was one of my more permanent ones. Mrs. Washington. She let me sleep in the garage since I was a high schooler now and need my space. I'd turn up the radio loud and lined all my clothes up in my room, since I now was receiving a monthly allowance. Though I went there in the summer I wasn't have to make friends so I shop as much as possible.

Of course this home wasn't my last but it was one of the best. The bad ones are the ones that molest you or don't believe you when their family members molest you. Other things like separate you from 'family photos.' That's the worst feeling. The point of being part of the family is for them to treat you like their own. Others feed you the generic brand foods while their kids eat the name brand stuff. Use your money allowance to shop for themselves and/or their kids.

Then people wonder why foster kids turn out disturbed and have emotion/attachment issues. Just because not everybody has a "normal" life doesn't mean everybody doesn't have their own issues to face. Everybody thinks their issues are so horrible but it's just how you coup and deal with them. All I know is I am greatful to not have mental problems and can raise my kids the "proper" way and it will be as stable as possible. No moving every time the season changes, No Jumping on them if your pissed at them, or prostituting them for so chump change. Just a "normal" life. Normal can be good sometimes.

In a different life I would hope my problems would've been: dealing with divorced parents, or being a straight "A" student stressing to get that "+" at the end of the "A." But everything happens for a reason. And what doesn't kill, you only makes you stronger.