Which kind of organisations should carry out scientific research?

whom to let be in charge of carrying out scientific researches?

Topic:

Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Essay:

Due to the importance and the difficulty of implementing scientific researches, not many organisations are capable of conducting them. Nowadays, they usually come into the hands of the government and some private organisations. It is argued that governments should be entirely involved in and in charge of those activities rather than corporations. I agree with the view that this should be funded and supervised by the state.

To begin with, there are two possible hidden dangers behind the research implemention by private organisations. The first one is that they might manipulate the results in order to maximise their profits. As follow, some medicines are not tested well before going into the market, and a few processes might be skipped to minimise the expenditure, causing unpredicted side effects. From an ethical perspective, it can lead to severve and long-term social effects. One example can be seen clearly is the Thalidomide disaster. It resulted in the births of thousands of malformed children, which the consequences still remain until now.

On the other hand, if the governments carry out and control those researches, the expenditure can be allocated reasonably and publicly. Moreover, universities are usually in charge of conducting them because they are in the area of expert. When people's benefits are prioritised, it is essential that they take those scientific researches into careful consideration. Therefore, the purpose is more of social driven and there is less bias towards profit earning. One example is the development of renewable resources to meet the growing demands.

To conclude, it is fairly risky to let private organisations be in charge of carrying out scientific researches. Therefore, governments should prioritise the expenditure on those and bear sole responsibility in implementing them.