'knowing own culture' - Should all students study the same curriculum?
The author's claim that a nation should have the same curriculum is completely
suported . Education untill entering the college must be the same for every
citizen in a country as it helps in a fair competition among the students
across the country . As a nation like india contains a large no of states ;
if the states are allowed to make the school curriculum then each state would
have a different studying pattern which can be a hinderance to the growth of
nation as a whole . Since the students cannot compete when they come together
on a national level , and the competition might not be fair as it would
support the one's who have studied the courses in their academic's .
Consider a country like in india where in the state decides the curriculum until
12th standard . So for undergraduate studies students need to give an all india
level test , thus making the students study differently for the two tests and
sophisticating their career . Instead a national curricumlum would be beneficial
as it would help them concentrate on a single syllabus thus simplifying the task .
Also when the students family travels from one place to another due to transfers
in government jobs , they find it difficult to adjust due to the discrepancies in
the syllabi . Hence when competing at a national level students are not judged on
the same platform .
However , there must be special rights given to the states so that they can make
additional subjects available which can be optional and can be managed at the state
level . In california some subjects realted to the history of the state are made available
so the students can study the culture and tradition of the state they are living in .
Thus helping the students grow knowing their culture too .
For a nation to develop equally a national curriculum is a must .