Knowledge gained from books or from practical experience; compare and contrast

It has been rightly said that not everything is learned in books.Books are an immense source of information but application of the theoretical knowledge helps to gain insight of the things.Books teach the rudiments of the subject , concepts involved in working of particular things but it's only after the hands-on training at the subject that a person is able to take advantage of the information.consider, for example, the fundamentals of voltage stability, frequency imbalance and current distortion taught in power systems lecture.Its only after the erection and commissioning of the electrical equipments that a power system engineer is able to better comprehend the problems and causes that occurred during the commissioning phase.He may have learnt new things in the process which he has not read in the textbooks.

Another example, consider a graduate who wishes to acquire Masters of Business Administration degree.Students need work experience to co-relate and extrapolate beyond what is taught in classes.Work experience helps them to learn and understand in a better way.Similarly, an accounting professional without having the knowledge of counting fundamentals would not be able to solve convoluted problems.

The moral principles of sincerity, hardwork, probity are delivered by teachers in schools to students.When students apply these principles in real world , they encounter numerous problems and learn from their experience.They become better equipped to deal with various grim situations in their life.Similar is the case in diplomacy and politics where persons learn from their mistakes after applying it in reality.

Thus, In my view , a theoretical knowledge corroborated by practical experience is a pre-requisite for better development and growth of an individual.Either of these alone factors will not be sufficient and complete in edifying the human about the complexities of life and myriad things he faces.