GRE: Knowledge and Rejection of Authority

Question:

"Great advances in knowledge always require rejection of authority."

Answer:

The statement asserts that advancement of knowledge always requires a rejection of authority. I agree with the statement for most part of it. However, one should also sense disquiet with the word "always". The statement seem to suggest that every single "great advances", without exclusion, will "always involve" a rejection of authority. This is unrealistic and inaccurate.

In most great advancements of knowledge, often the individuals involved first began by questioning old doctrines. Galileo questioned the Roman Catholic's dogmatic view of a flat Earth, consequently, leading to the discovery that the Earth is round. Copernicus rejected the Roman Catholic's Geocentric model leading to the discovery of Heliocentricism. Former bodies of knowledge, often authoritatively held, have tendancies of being impedances to advancements. It would thus, in many cases, be useful to first reject these authorities to free up one's mind for new possibilities.

However, many great advancements were made without even a single existing authority to be questioned. Adventitious discoveries are good examples. Also, consider archeological expeditions where new fossils are being discovered and great knowledge being advanced. Clearly, none of these would have involved having to reject any authorities. They were simply, new additions to our understanding.

In conclusion, although many new advances to our knowledge were made after rejection of authorities, there exist a considerable number of advancements that certainly did not involve any such rejections. A more accurate statement would therefore be to say that most great advances of knowledge require rejection of authority.