Lack of interpersonal skills. Causes and Solutions?

Qualities required by employees

Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions.

Recently there are complaints among employers about the absence of interpersonal skills in the young labor. There are several explainable reasons for that issue, and also feasible solutions to adopt.

Failure to cooperate with the others between new employees may be attributed to some causes. Today advanced technology has enabled people to lead an extremely convenient life, which consequently results in a sedentary lifestyle and a decline in social gathering. With less in-person interaction, a number of youngsters gradually struggle with the loss of confidence and communication skill. Furthermore, nowadays lots of young people choose to live alone or in small family instead of in a traditional big family, and some of them are financially independent very soon. This particular trend may contribute, more or less, to undermine social bonding even inside family, the very first and the ultimate form of community.

However, it is crucial that steps be taken to tackle the issue. In educational institutions, a less passively teacher-led and more about autonomous learning method which includes teamwork discussion, pairing assignment, idea exchanging and debate should be highly promoted. Besides, teachers should create an active learning environment where students support each other and eliminate unhealthy competence. In firms and companies, training sessions, as well as team-building program should be established on a regular basis. For example, company trip on holiday with game for groups like Pictionary may help breaking barriers and enhancing fellowship between staff.

In conclusion, although some possible caused can be identified to thoroughly understand the businesses' concern, there are practical measures for us to improve interpersonal skills of the present young labor.