[IELTS] Essay about language learning topic

starting learning a foreign language early

Topic: Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some educationists think that children starting learning a second language at primary school rather than secondary school is better for them. I completely agree with this view and will give my reasons below.

The first reason is that children learn a foreign language more efficiently. According to biology theory, human brains are developing at younger ages, which means it allows children to absorb a large amount of new information in a short time. Therefore, children at primary school ages are equipped with enough amount of vocabulary and grammar well preparing for the next advanced courses when entering secondary school.

The second reason is that it broadens their horizon more. Most younger people are less self-conscious and more open-minded to adopt novel concepts. Besides, it is unavoidable that when we learn other countries' languages, we also learn about their cultures at the same time. Hence, if people contact a variety of knowledge from their young age, they will have less chance to reject learning unfamiliar things when they grow up.

However, it is true that there still are some disadvantages. One of the problems is that it easily causes confusion in younger learners when they are learning a mother tongue and a second language together. I think this can be made up by well trained teachers. Teachers in primary schools are qualified and know how to correct their students through a series of designed materials and methods.

In conclusion, I believe that starting learning a foreign language at primary shcool age instead of secondary shool age has more benefits for children.