IELTS-task 2: Language is always useful, especially when it comes to traveling and doing business.

The reason of learning a foreign language

Write about the following topic:

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, more and more parents make their children start to learn a foreign language since their children are young. There are many benefits of being able to speak a foreign language. As a result, the reason of studying a foreign language has been widely discussed.

Some people believed that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or to work in a foreign country. Language is always useful, especially when it comes to traveling and doing business. In other words, working and traveling cover 80% chances and needs of speaking a foreign language. In this modern era, it's easy for people to travel around and work in different countries. Therefore, traveling and working in other country is the reason why people need to know a foreign language.

On the other hand, people disagree with the view of learning a foreign language is only for traveling and business. There are many other reasons for picking up a language other than mother tongue. For example, learning the culture of another country. If you know a foreign language, you can read the first-hand material of a certain topic or research without translations. In fact, sometimes misunderstanding happens over translation. Moreover, learning a foreign language can be merely an interest. It's interesting to know the way of people speaking in a country by learning their language. For example, Japanese are always polite to each other, and this are shown in their language.

In my opinion, I think traveling and working in a different country can be the main reason for people to study another language, however, it's not always the whole story. I started learning English when I was in the first grade of primary school, and English has helped me a lot on traveling and studying abroad. Nevertheless, I started learning Korean two years ago because I enjoy watching Korean TV series and I want to watch it without waiting for Chinese subtitles. To sum up, language is useful in many aspects, especially in traveling and working, but that's not the only reason to learn a foreign language.