[IELTS] A large factory built near community. Pros and cons? Your position?

Topic: A company has announced, that it wishes to build a large factory, near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position?

There is no doubt constructing a large firm has certain impacts on the adjacent residential areas. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin before a personal opinion is announced.

To begin with, the community may benefit from improved living standard once the factory is built. People are provided with paid jobs, which reduce the unemployment rate and contribute to the regional economy. Moreover, there might be a significant decline in social vices, caused by poverty and famine, which liberate the society from being weighed down.

However, it is believed that the appearance of a factory may pose a threat to the surrounding environment. There has been reported many cases when the factories dispose of untreated affluent onto nearby rivers, which subsequently lead to massive ecological destructions, especially in marine life. Not to mention that a tremendous area of land, consisting of a diversity of fauna and flora, might later on be turned into a clearing for the firm's foundation.

Another disadvantage worth discussion is the direct effects our life is likely to undergo if a firm is built up. Undoubtedly, the construction will leave its footprint in the form of dust, smoke and ashes; three detrimental factors to our respiratiory systems. Also, the residents are prone to be at the receiving end of agitating noise, released by operating machines and human's orders.

Everything considered, a factory is of considerable materialistic value to the regional commerce. But, it may not lend itself near a community so long as environmental and health issues are to be concerned. Therefore, from my personal view, such industry should not be located next to communal areas.