'leadership is vital to a country to stay united' - essay

This is my attempt on a expository essay. I appreciate any corrections/feedbacks on my essay to improve it. Sorry for the numerous grammer mistakes made, i`m still learning it.

Leadership

Leadership is the fundamental aspect in all forms of society and governance. A society, or a human society, is a group of people related to each other through persistent relations, or a large social grouping sharing the same geographical or virtual territory, subject to the same governance and dominant cultural expectations. Governance is more than just a set of institutional arrangements to ensure the effective functioning of society; it is the leader of the society. A government without the ability to execute leadership on its people will lead to the disarray and utter chaos of the society, as there will be no law, no direction, and no order. Effective systems of governance are necessary but the key is the quality of leadership that resides in all institutions of governance. In fact, the quality of governance follows naturally from good leadership. In the following essay, we should discuss the key principles of defining a good leadership.

The most basic requirement of a good leadership in an institution of governance is its ability to eschew corruption but is often taken for granted. If the government`s leaders fail to meet this necessary standard of probity, it cannot be demanded of any other official throughout the system. The foundation of the public` trust in the government stem from their belief that, decisions made by the government bodies are without fear or favour; but for the interests of the society and the public. Thus, one of the imperatives of a good leadership is its ability to make fair, consistent and unbiased decisions for the benefits of the society.

Besides eschewing corruption, a good leadership also requires the government to be pragmatic. If the government was to build all considerations into all their policies, they would be almost impossible to implement. They also have to take into accord of the various constraints before implementing a policy, including myriad external and internal factors; especially in a country of multi-racial context. Being pragmatic also means that government and institutions of governance must re-examine their policies from time to time and question whether the assumptions remains valid. Hence, being pragmatic is also a key principle of a good leadership in a government or institution of governance.

In conclusion, leadership is vital to a country if it should remain united, overcome problems that arise and working towards the same goal. Unless there is proper leadership, divisive tendencies arise in the country, and the country will fall into disarray. The task of leadership is not to put greatness into humanity, but to elicit it, for the greatness is already there.