Learn Culture from its Language which is the utmost important instrument to communicate with people

Some people think that person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language.

Do you agree with this opinion?

Languages are the important tool to communicate with other people around the world. Some people regard the languages as the only way to understand the culture of a country. There are several reasons why I believe that knowing how people speak in their language is not the predominant way to understand the culture of the nations.

There is no doubt that language is the utmost important instrument to communicate with people. In fact, language, as the identity of country as well as culture, becomes reflection of the culture itself. People can deducing the culture of a nation by comprehending their language. Taking Javanese culture, one of the Indonesian cultures, as an example, the majority Javanese speak calmly and slowly. It can be expected that they have polite and friendly culture. Different to people living in Medan, a city at North Sumatera, they speak much louder than Javanese people and more impolite. It can be indicated that they have strong personality and though culture.

However, there are also another way to apprehend a country culture such as learning their customs or their behaviours. For instance, some Hindi people usually pour milk to their statue, which regards as their God. It reflects that they respect their God with the best material from their environment.

In brief, even though some people have mind-set that speak other country language is the only way to understand the culture of a country, but learning from not only its language but also its customs and behaviours are the best way to comprehend the culture of a nation.