We learn to talk, walk, differentiate good from bad, and learn manners from our parents. TOEFL Essay

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Obviously, the first teacher in any child's life in most cases is his/her parents. We learn to talk, walk, differentiate good from bad, and learn manners from our parents. Parents, more than anyone else, are most involved in our leaning and development, shape our individuality, and build the foundation of what we truly are. Hence, I agree with the statement that parents are the best teachers.

Parents are the best teachers in the beginning of our lives. It is from them that we learn to respect our elders, or treat other people. They sacrifice their comforts for the betterment of our future and because we spend so much time with our parents, we tend to inherit some of their qualities. We become a reflection of our parents. From where I belong, when a girl gets married she is thought to be a true reflection of her mother. The values and morals taught by her mother are regarded very highly and are frowned upon if she fails to display them.

Parents consistently guide us throughout our lives. Irrespective of how old we become, we can always trust our parents for a rightful guidance. Their teaching is uninterrupted and goes on for as long as forever. For instance, when I was a little child I remember my mom teaching me to remain calm and speak politely to my cousins when I used to get angry on them for taking my toys. She inculcated an important value in me, that is, she taught me to remain calm in most difficult situations. Though this value did not seem very obvious when I was a child, it did helped me time to time.

Though parents cannot be classifies as professional teachers, they contribute to the maximum in our lives. Biased at times, they wish good things and an easy life but they always help us to grow as an individual. In conclusion, while parents are not the most ideal teachers and a well-rounded child needs a diversity of teachers to have broader learning, parents are still the most committed of all and have greater investment in learning and development of a child.