IELTS TASK 2: Learning the culture of other countries by watching or traveling

Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and film about it than by actually visiting it.

How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes about it?

Deeply learning about the foreign country by watching production on TV is meaningful for many people. While this is acceptable to some extent since it more effective and efficient to learn other countries, I utterly believe that directly go to the overseas will acquire real experience and fully understanding regarding the human race of certain nation.

Some people are always on the lookout for the characteristics of the nation by watching a program of documentaries lived on screen. This is because it can easier to know without spending much cost and lots of time. For instance, numerous people watch documentaries on the National Geography Channel in order to know about the feature of countries. In this programme, the viewers can enhance their thought about the human and other creatures as the points of the country. Therefore, grappling with television leads the mankind to get broaden-minded.

However, it is not really practicable because of many reasons. Firstly, people cannot more explanation about the country by visiting since there is a shred of exposition on the documentaries and it is shown only in a few minutes. Additionally, being in a present in the country can make people achieving more experience about the personality of the local people and also their behavior since they will get in conversing directly. Thus, people can explore more though by visiting the country.

To sum up, although watching documentaries are the simple way to know about other countries indeed, I believe that it could be more understandable when people go through in the destination to discuss the country with the native. Where possible, people should be attractive to the occupant so as to expand massive information in overseas.