Task 2: Learning English and learning local languages

Couple global or multiple local languages?

Learning English at school is often seen as more important than local languages.If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Recently, there has been an on going debate on whether learning English is as important as learning local languages and should we make effort to preserve the existence of local languages. From my perspectives, English as well as local languages plays a crucial part in many aspects in the near future.

English has its own reason to become a compulsory subject at school. Mastering English, students can increase their chances of further education as they wish to study aboard. It can also improve students' job opportunities in the future career. Moverover, English plays an important role in globalization. In the near future, sections such as the world's economy or cultural exchange will mainly used English as a means of communication between countries.

However, it does not mean that local languages are no longer necessary to learn. We should ensure the survival of these languages to maintain cultural diversity.. Additionally, these languages are still part of some community in the world. In order to save these languages from extinction, we could publish books or make documentaries about the local languages and the government should make these languages a compulsory subject at school too.

In conclusion, English and local languages have the same importance in the language education as well as cultural diveristy and globalization