IELTS 2: Learning everything by remembering related facts to achieve a success in studying

Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people hold an opinion that the most vital method to achieve the success in studying is learning everything by remembering related facts. From my perspective, I immensely disconcur with this point of view.

First and foremost, education is a process, people will forget knowledge in long term when merely memorizing facts. A survey conducted demonstrates that people have the ability of keeping knowledge in their mind in a certain period of time for around 5 years. Afterward they have tendency to forget those things and leave the rooms to remember current facts. Admittedly, students who learn facts by rote before exams cannot complete their test efficiently because it is difficult to remember everything permanently.

Secondly, remembering facts turns out to be an adverse effect in learning when people cannot comprehend those facts. That is to say, people will hardly utilize those facts they only memorized without understanding to apply them in practice. Therefore they cannot be successful when being educated to merely learn something by heart, whereas they must be encouraged to spend time learning facts and arranging them in a logical system over and over. For instance, learning history is never easy if people just keep numbers and facts in their mind, on the top of that, they ought to explain the reason why those facts happens and their significance to the history.

In conclusion, I strongly disapprove that people will be successful in studying by learning facts when not understanding the core of the information because education is an extremely sophisticated process.