Learning by a failure? Mistakes can teach you a lesson.

Learning starts with failure; the first failure is the beginning of education

People who always get good grades can after some time become overconfident. I would say it's rather a human nature that makes you think that if you score at top of your class once or twice you'll score the same next time without trying hard. In this view of point one might think what John Hersey wrote is correct.

The thing one might realize from a failure is that they have to try harder. Of course some might never realize this and continue on the same wrong path. No one will ever learn if they are always at the top, never failing because no one is perfect in this world. But for people to learn something they first have to admit that they have failed and try harder next time not to fail.

I once scored high in my academics and I was really glad. In my next academic exam I hardly studied and ended up with poor grades. I learned that in order to receive good grades I have to study harder. The fun fact that I came across was that even though my mother would always tell me and my brother to work hard I would never pay much attention but after receiving bad grades I realized how important it is to work hard. So in contrary, learning definitely starts with failure and the first failure is the beginning of education.

In the end life is an extremely hard hurdle that we have to overcome. Giving how no one is perfect everyone will face failure more than once in their lives so at that time it's better to learn something from it and only then will you start climbing the stairs of growth.