Learning foreign language from the earliest grades - Javanese example

Nowadays, we live in globalization era which influence many people to learn other languages even the children learn it for the better future. Although there are benefits for learning other language in the earliest grades, I believe that there are detrimental effects of this issue.

On the positive side, it is a good decision for children to study a foreign language from the earliest grades. Because, it is the easiest time to get a lot of knowledge particularly learn a new language, then there are many parents entering their children to course institute of foreign language. The result shows that the 2002 U.S. cencus indicated that approximately 14% (more than 7.5 million) children between the ages of 5 and 17 are fluent in more than one language, and this number was expected to increase in the coming years. It also gives children better mental flexibility and creative thinking skills than their counterparts who only speak one language. Moreover, the children can lead to better opportunities in school, college, careers and also relationships. Furthermore, cultural connections are much easier for children who study a foreign language and can lead to rewarding friendships and business associations. All in all, it is better for children to learn other language in the earliest grades, Then they will ready to face the world.

In contrast, a negative side to this obligation is the impact that waste of time to learn other language. Because, it can spend more time to learn and practice it. It is better for them to spend a lot of time for studying their mother language. Taking Javanese language as an example, many children in Javanese get less of score for their Javanese language material. In addition, students naturally experience anxiety when learning a new thing. Because, they not only learn the material of language but also should be able to speak foreign language. For instance, English language students experience a deficiency at being able to speak English for a long time and can experience a great deal of anxiety. To conclude, there are some negative effects influence their physic and reduce their mother languages.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that although there are advantages for children to learn foreign language from earliest grades, there are also detrimental effects. This should be continued but with make a good method for learning which avoid an anxiety of children and also make a mother language more important than other languages.