Learning a foreign language will encourage the curiosity of children

All children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statment?

The first-grade children have to learn a language outside their own country. I personally believe that this situation has more positive than negative effects.

Critics to this idea claim that the lesson given to the youngest schoolchildren should be basic needs such as the formation of character, not a language outside their own country, because character formation of children will determine their behavior in the future whether they will be bad or good people. And this character formation becomes an obligation for parents and can be started by parents who show a respect when they meet their friends , for example, do not forget to say 'hello' to your friends. As a result, children will be well behaved and polite to everyone, especially to people that they have known. Therefore, character building is more important than studying foreign language for the youngest children.

On the other hand, supporters to this idea argue that language from other countries nowadays takes important part of the world. Taking English as an example, this language is the official language in a large number of many countries. Firstly, it is estimated that the number of people in this world that usually use English to communicate on a regular basis is 2 billion people. Thus, this number makes English becomes the most spoken language in the world. Moreover, many of the world's top films, books, and music are published and produced in English. Because of this, by learning English, the youngest schoolchildren will have access to a great wealth of entertainment. In addition, most of the content produced on the internet (probably around 50%) is in English. Consequently, knowing English will allow them to access to an incredible amount of information which may not be otherwise available.

To conclude, it is clear to me that although some people assume that other languages have not been an important lesson for the youngest schoolchildren in these days, I still maintain that languages will give more advantages than disadvantages for them. And I think that parents should give some stimulates such as learning foreign language to encourage their curiosity.