[IELTS] Learning foreign languages is common now. Good or Not? Can prevent drawbacks

Foreign languages are taught in all levels of schools and other educational institutions. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? What can we do to prevent the loss of our mother tongue?

Nowadays, we can learn foreign languages in all levels of schools and some educational institutions. Personally, I agree with the idea that it is a positive development thought it may impact our mother tongue, and I believe that various we can do to prevent the drawbacks.

Learning foreign languages can benefit people a lot in modern world. To begin with, every language brings its own culture and it is an asset of human beings, learning other languages can help us to enrich our horizons and develop our intelligence, imagination and creativity. People who speak more than one language can have a better career development. They have more chances to get a job in the international companies or work in different locations around the world, which also motivate them to be success in their career. As a result, it is a positive development that foreign languages education is spread among the people.

However, if one language is dominant, the other languages may disappear, we should protect our own languages though we are encouraged to learn foreign languages. The government should develop some polices to ensure mother language is used in schools and the mainstream media. Besides, we should preserve our own culture and strengthen the ethnic cohesion through education. For instance, school can hold some activities, like visiting the historical museum, to let students to learn more about the history. The last thing we can do is to make our country stronger and improve the economic strength.

In conclusion, it is a good trend that foreign languages learning are spread among the people. To prevent the drawbacks of the foreign languages, we should protect our own languages as well as the cultures through government policies, education and the economic strengthen.