Learning how to be a good member in society through the (obligatory?) community service program

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Community service learning is very essential for students. Some people believe that it should be to become a compulsory part of high school curriculum so that student can learn how to be a good member in society and it is very helpful for community. However, I personally argue that unpaid community service program should not to be a compulsory subject inasmuch as this is social activity that student can do it everyday.

I would argue that by implementing the unpaid public service, students are more likely to know how to live in society. This is because they learn to service the community necessity. As an obvious example, one of the project on this program is to observe environment issues around the community. As a result, students know how to make environment be better.

In addition, society tend to be happy by the appearance of this subject. For example, bulid some infrastructures or cleaning around public spaces such as park or masjid led society to appreciate in this activities. It is thus clear that unpaid society service is very helpful for community.

On the other hand, this program does not have to be a compulsory subject. As such, student can do this activity everyday and has become on of the major activity in society. Taking Indonesia as an example, teenagers are demanded to join in social activity such as cleaning the road around their home every Sunday. It is becoming a culture in Indonesia where people work together in Sunday morning to clean environment around their live. There is no doubt that it should not to be a compulsory subject.

The aforementioned evidence shows that although this program led student to learn in social life and very useful for society, it should not to be a compulsory subject because it must be done every day. I personally argue that i t depends on individual willing where people should not to be demanded joining the program.