Toefl essay - "Learning about past has its significance"

Hi please give your feed back . I am preparing for toefl and would like to have suggestion for writing section.

Thanks.

Learning about the past has no values for those of us living in the present. Agree or disagree.

Can knowledge about the past for those of us living in present would be beneficial? Some people thinks that this information is useless because the past is passed present. While others believe that it is advantageous for our present as well as future. I agree with the later opinion. Learning about past would give opportunities for new invention, prevent us from repeating same mistake and provide better understanding about the existence of particular purpose.

Various discoveries and inventions took place in field of science and technologies. This would have never been possible without the knowledge of prior achievements. For instance, certain epidemic diseases, such as polio, cancer etc. would result in the discoveries of newer antibiotics to prevent them. If suppose, no record of such evidences were found ,then no one would ever get benefited with this inventions. Furthermore, new achievements lead to the betterment of our live by providing more comfort such as machines as replaced the old pattern of hand work.

Besides with the opportunities, learning about past would prevent us to perform the same mistake again. For example, one of my friend was unable to clear the medical exam. Although he prepared very hard for it but result was unfavourable. During the next time, he took all the precautions about his previous mistakes and than gave exam with full confidence and received higher score. Thus, past experiences help us to improve our future performances.

In addition to this, past knowledge would provide better understanding of the present situations and their existence. Culture, rituals and beliefs still have their existence till today. This is because there is some basis of their beliefs which is still passing to generations. If nobody would learn about their existence then slowly it would loose their significance. Furthermore, in a country nobody could be able present their culture and tradition.

Therefore, learning about past has its significance. Its provide opportunities to developed ourselves in further discoveries. Also, help us to improve our mistake from previous experience and would provide the better understanding of present situations.