"Learning is power" - toefl-why people go to colleges or universities?

Many people attend colleges. They think it is necessary to study in colleges for starting to get a job. As a result, people know that getting a good education is most important for their future. However, the main reasons people want to go there include expansion of knowledge and gaining self-reliance.

First of all, when people go to colleges, they expand their knowledge. They choose their major, and then they learn from colleges. If they graduate, they will be a professional of their major. Some say that people can study alone, but that has limitations. For example, if you try to solve a difficult mathematics question on your own, you might not solve it in even a whole day. On the other hand, if you have the knowledge gained from a math class, you could solve it in a very short time. Colleges provide many kinds of opportunities including learning by teacher, peers, getting information from library, and so on, not just for securing a good job. Moreover, People can not live just bread and water. According to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, people usually pursue to earn the esteem of the public and to achieve self-actualization beyond deficiency needs. Colleges are places where people are fulfill the demands of living a good life.

Furthermore, in colleges people learn how to live in society on their own. Before they go to colleges, parents or teachers take care of them. However, after they enter colleges, they have to do everything themselves such as washing their clothes, cleaning their room, taking care of bills, and so on. For instance, when they live in the dormitories, the dormitories have rules. They learn how to live in society by following these rules. If they do not keep the rules, they will get penalties, because they are not children but adults. Nobody can do their chores for them anymore, so they have to learn what their responsibilities are. They have to know that making errors and fixing them, is learning, and there are chances before they go to society. Society will not allow their mistakes.

To sum up, learning is power. People who have more knowledge than others can receive more opportunities and benefits. Also, colleges help to achieve self-fulfillment. I am totally sure that going to the colleges help people prepare for going out into society easily.