Ielts task 2 - E-learning programs

study at home or attending college / university?

Topic: Many people use distance-learning programmes (study material post,TV,internet...)to study at home. But some people think that it cannot bring the benefit as much as attending college or university. Do you agree or disagree?

Essay:

In the light of technological advancements, it is widely acknowledged that human's needs about learning has radically changed over the past few decades. One of the most remarkable developments has been the way distance learning used commonly. However, many people argue that this method can not gain the same advantages as the traditional form of university education. In my opinion, I believe that distance learning bring more drawbacks than benefits.

On the positive side, without any doubt, distance learning requires the saving of both time and money aspects for not only teacher but also learners. The time studying is actually flexible which means that students could learn any time allowed and wherever. Take the recent days as an example, although students have had to be absent from schools because of the outbreak of Covid-19 virus, many schools has tended to make their students study online through social networks.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that distance learning breakthroughs have had an adverse bearing on the way students study. First and foremost, students who are lack of self-control would feel unmotivated for learning. Besides, at universities, they could interact with their peers and their mentors, which leaves no chance for such kind of problem to occur. Moreover, distance learning is likely to divert students' attention from their study. Students would be distracted by online games and other respects, which may result in falling behind their peers or bad habits.

In conclusion, it is undeniable about the influence of distance learning on education. However, in my opinion, it could never replace such benefits attending colleges brings.