Learning through screens are less beneficial than in a classroom with a group of student

Tittle :

Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Essay :

There are people who claim that learning through screens are less beneficial than in a classroom with a group of students, but there are others who conclude the opposite. To my mind, the statement itself is partly right and also partly wrong.

Having considered all the convenience it brings, it is undeniable that learning online is more beneficial than with peers in a classroom. At school, the students learn together, so they have to do things together. The gifted ones often finish things faster and have to wait for the others. But in online classes, students done with their assignment can leave the meeting sooner. This is a remarkable advantage since many students can save the time they usually waste on waiting for the others to catch up, and presumably spend it on picking up a new language. Furthermore, in these days when the COVID-19 pandemic has not gone yet, learning from home plays a crucial role in lowering in the number of new cases. With this new learning method, schoolers will not have the chance to be down with the disease, as well as being well-informed at the same time.

Nevertheless, online class also has its pitfalls. With the comfort at home, some students are likely to get mind-numbed or fall asleep. At school, these things rarely happen. It is because of the lecturer's surveillance - which learning online lacks.Moreover, it is obvious that social media, games,films and anything available on gadgets hold more attraction to youngsters than lessons. Therefore classes attendees will be easily distracted from what they should never be supposed to. Furthermore, it is the peer pressure in class that makes student more likely to be indefatigable. When being put in a group of like-minded people, one is more unlikely to have the feeling of doing something alone and have more motivation to keep on their work. This is what creates the difference in performance between students taught online and at school.

To cut the long story short, I believe that even though online classes have their failings, this method is still a promising applicant for education for the next generation. However, to make the most use of the benefits it brings, there are still way many changes need to be made in near future.