Learning the second language - IELTS Writing task 2: Discussion

Some people say that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. Others believe there are other reasons to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals suggest that language acquisition is solely beneficial for travelers or workers in another country. Other opinions say that there are additional reasons to learning a second language. While both views hold merit, I lean towards the latter perspective.

It is true that most foreign language learners are students or workers who wish to increase career prospects abroad, as bilingualism can open up international career opportunities. In terms of travelers, they mostly learn a second language to assist their basic needs when touring abroad. Without basic language skills, travelers may struggle to order food, navigate, or communicate for assistance, while employees would lack the requirements needed for work. This is evident by the fact that languages from tourist-attracting countries tend to gain popularity, and the increasing amounts of instant language courses for vacationers and workers.

Nevertheless, language learning can also help improve one's cognitive abilities and memory and foster cross-cultural understanding. Languages serve as bridges between different ways of life, boosting literacy and creativity. This is because multilingual individuals have denser neurons and dendrites that form their 'grey matter'. Additionally, their second language experience also boosts their brain's reserves connection, which we call 'white matter.' As a result, language learners can sharpen their memory and concentration, have their communication skills enhanced, and broaden their horizons. Moreover, students who master another language can improve their academic performances.

To conclude, there are different views on whether language learning can be beneficial to other aspects outside of work and traveling purposes. In my opinion, not only can language learning help us gain a competitive edge in the job market or do away with language barriers, but language skills acquisition can also improve our overall intelligence and approach to global cultures.