A Legal Trade in Ivory Would Wipe Out Elephants, Study Finds

The decision-making mechanism is a proposed process by Namibia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa; those nations that support the legalization of ivory trade. It is about collecting ivory from existing government stockpiles of seized illegal ivory, natural elephant deaths, elephant culls, and intentional elephant hunts. It is believed that this process is able to meet the demand for elephant ivory without causing extinction. However, a study finds that the demand for ivory is far greater than the amount of ivory that can be harvested sustainably.

"There is no way to harvest sufficient ivory in a controlled way that won't drive elephant populations to extinctions," says Phyllis Lee, one of the study's authors and a researcher at the University of Stirling in the United Kingdom. His argument is based on his research which used data from elephants in Amboseli, Kenya, to determine how many could be killed for their ivory before it started to negatively affect the population.

In conclusion, the life of elephants is in danger and it is the responsibility of everyone to figure out how to save them from extinction.