IELTS writing essay: Should we legalize the right to die?

I am welcomed any comments, both positive or negetive :)

liberty to live and die

Many people considered physician-assisted killing to be inhumane and against God's will. However, in my opinion, people should be given the right to die for the following reasons.

Firstly, the assisted dying is in accordance with body integrity. As an autonomous human, we are entitled to self-determine what to do with our own bodies, including how to live, what to do and how to die. Coercing people to go on living miserably while they want to die is indeed inhumane.

Secondly, physician-assisted dying fulfils the will of terminally ill people to die with dignity. Since they are usually under palliative treatment, their body conditions would gradually deteriorate and eventually lead to death. In addition, families from lower class will be under severe financial and psychological burden from the hospital treatment of their loved ones. This can leave a mental breakdown to the patients. Thus, hastening their death can prevent or put and end to such breakdown from happening to the patients.

Thirdly, even though mercy killing is banned, some would always find a way to execute it, either by refusing medical treatment or going to other countries where such practice is legalized. Those methods are usually more painful or expensive than assisted-dying. Therefore, in my opinion, it is the ban of assisted dying that is unethical and inconsiderate.

In conclusion,while some may render assisted dying as sinful, I strongly believe people have the liberty to die, just as much as the liberty to live and to pursue happiness.