IELTS Essay, leisure activities: physical or mental rest

Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improves the mind such as reading and doing puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Leisure time activities are important to keep our body and mind healthy. In this world of busy life style it is necessory to use it wisely. Some people feel that it should be for intellictual activities, while others give preferance for mental rest. I feel both have its own importance according to the routine work they are involved.

Undoubtedly, people who are doing hard physical works as a part of their daily work need physical rest. Their free time will be effective if they involve in activities like reading books or listening music. Our brain concentrate to the book or music and we forgot all other things. It helps to regenerate the brain cells and we feel fresh. For instance, a farmer can use his free time effectively by reading newspaper, which not only enhaces his knowledge of day to day affairs, but also, provide physical rest.

On the other hand, people who are angaged in works which leaves mental strains must take mental rest in their free time. If they are lacking physcial exercises and doing sedentory works they can choose out door activities, like partcipating in games. This provide necessory exercises and keep them healthy. Furthermore,it helps to develop their social skillsas they are mingling with others who are in different age groups and social status. The team spirit and positive attitude are important in their daily life. For example a computer programer after a tried full day mental strains, needs physcial activity, and it is better to go for an out door game.

To conclude, leisure time activities gives a break from our daily works and help us to keep a balance between the work and life. The selection of leisure activities should be based of the daily work of the people. Physical work needed for those who are more physically involved and mental rest is necessory for those who are engaged in mentaly straining jobs.