IELTS essay-whether writing letters will disappear completely

QUESTION:With the increasing use of mobile phones, less people tend to write letters. Some people believe that writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With mobile phones becoming increasingly common in modern life, writing letters seems to have gone out of date. Some people harbour the view that writing letters will be totally replaced by other modern means of communication, which I think is partly true.

There is no denying that the communication technology has always been under rapid development in recent decades. Take mobile phones as a demonstration, the only function of the first mobile phone is to make a phone call when it was invented. However, after years of improvement, the mobile phones now can not only make phone calls but also send text messages and even surf the Internet, which makes it much more convenient for people to talk to others using mobile phones. Additionally, there are various ways to communicate with others now, such as emails, faxes and instant messaging services online. Therefore, writing letters seems to be a less efficient way to send messages at present.

However, writing letters has its own advantages. Sometimes it is necessary for people to keep a hand-writing letter as a proof or a commemorative item. What's more, it is also a good way to express one's emotion and sincerity. Some cold, standard typed letters cannot replace the handwriting. Letters can help to keep the sense of reality when people touching it and holding it.

In conclusion, this old and useful way of communication, writing letters, may be a less popular way to send messages. However, it will not be totally replaced by other modern means of communications.

Any comments are welcomed!