O level: Children today have no proper childhood

Children today have no proper childhood. Do you agree?

According to the majority of the scientists, childhood is considered a crucial stage of a person's development. This is when one starts to form specific characters as well as physical and mental strength. A child with a proper childhood is often carefree, innocent, playful, active and well-cared by parents. However, children today suffer from intensive schoolwork, family pressure and mass media influence, which deprive them of proper childhood.

The fact that children today are inundated with a myriad of homework is undeniable. The scene of a primary one students going for several tuitions and a primary five doing homework for several hours appeare to be unsurprisingly common. Consequently, the overloaded schoolwork has left the children with little free time for outdoor activities and family outings. As a result, they become less active and playful due to the large amount of time spending on the desks. Also, the distance between them and their families is further widened, which may exert a considerable impact on their psychological growth.

Another trouble that children face today is the parental pressure. With the rising academic standard and competitiveness, children are compelled to study much harder in order to be parallel with peers, thus, meeting the parents' high expectations. Worse, the examinations have instilled fear into a big number of children, putting them in constant emotional stresses, which are proved to do no good to their mental health. Accordingly, they can no longer be carefree and relaxed as they are supposed to be. More alarmingly, there are cases when children were so stressed that they even cried after an exam with the angst of being scolded for poor results. Such situations have certainly raised some concern about the way children are growing up these days.

On the other hand, many adults argue that children today have a much more proper childhood than theirs owing to the availability of various necessities. Compared to the adults' childhood, children now receive more sufficient nutrition for their physical growths as well as more adequate supply for their education and recreation. Some tens of years ago, a classroom with proper desks and chairs, visualizers or projectors; computer labs or sports halls were something that children at that time only dared to dream of.

However, those arguments only take in to account only the material rather than spiritual comforts. What deserves urgent consideration is the emotional and psychological nurture that children are devoid of. We seem to be observing the decreasing number of truly innocent children. In other words, children's minds are corrupted by the influence of the mass media. In truth, they are exposed to a wide variety of things that offer to adults like sex and alcohol. Take China for example, many young ten-year-old girls are already expert in putting on make-up and adopting seducing poses. Some actually involve in sex scandals and alcohol addictions. Noting that such cases are the minority, still, that online revelation came as a terrible shock to the public.

Indeed, children today have no proper childhood as a result of nervous tension and media manipulation. Should this situation persist, there may come a generation of adults with incomplete psychological development. Therefore, something must be done to the upbringing of the children before it is too late.

I have a big problem with my expressions. Please read and correct mine.

Any suggestions to improve my points are much appreciated.