IELTS WT2: Library vs. Computer Technology

Public Libraries should not be maintained any more since we already have computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Advancement in technology has rapidly peaking towards success for the last 100 years. It has made a huge decline in the use of library with the existence of computers. Others argue that there is no means of maintaining them at all. My view is that, statistically, at present, libraries are continuously operating due to various reasons and will be analysed in this essay.

Evidently, in many countries, the number of public libraries are still high. Some of them levelled up their quality of service to the locals to be kept worthy. The library in our council Canterbury, for example, opened-up a computer based catalogue and reservation system for the public. In addition, the provided a separate room for computer & internet use wherein students and other people can do their research inside the vicinity of what used to be book & paper building. As these attempts of improvement show, facilitators of libraries have found their way to work with technology to enhance their value.

Additionally, computer technology has been proven to result in physical damage to the human body. For instance, prolonged use of computers may harm our vision through radiation. In contrast, the use of books made from papers will likely cause less damage to the reader's eye sight. Moreover, some libraries do provide bean bags and comfortable lounge chairs for the readers. It helps to maintain body posture properly than sitting in a computer chair for a long time. It is therefore preferred by many to read on books inside the library to keep a healthy eye condition, and utilize comfy chairs to prevent back problems.

It is felt that, although computer technology and the use of internet provide benefits to people, it cannot totally eliminate the use of library for the said reasons. Personally, I will recommend that both can work hand-in-hand with each other to still be able to serve the public's learning process in the old fashioned way plus using the advance equipments such as computers.