IELTS: Life was better when technology was simpler.

Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has always been influencing our lives throughout human history, especially in recent decades. However, there are some people complaining technology makes life more complicated rather than simpler. Personally, I disagree with this view.

I would argue technological developments in various areas have transformed our world enormously, making our lives much simpler. One of the biggest technological breakthroughs in last few years is the invention of the internet, which greatly improves people's working efficiency and productivity. It also enables people to enjoy easier life by providing online shopping stores so that they do not need to go traditional department stores, which tends to be tiring. People's communication also becomes much more convenient and efficient with the help of smart mobile phones and WI-FI technology. Thanks to them, we can keep in touch with our family members and friends anywhere and at any time. At home,all kinds of high-tech appliances not only allow us to live a life of ease,but also make our life quite enjoyable. For example, washing machines can help us do all the laundry, while high definition TVs are able to produce amazing special effects,making TV programmes more entertaining.

Still, sometimes technology does make things a little difficult,particularly to the elderly who are not willing to learn new things. One of the usually complained problems is that there are too many options when it comes electronic devices. IPhones,IPads,laptops etc. have so many similar functions that sometimes it is really hard for consumers to make choice. Also, most intelligent electronic devices are based on complicated operating systems, and therefore users have to spend quite some time on learning before feeling comfortable with them. Worse still, once they stop working,usually because of defects within them, all the convenience given by them would disappear.

In conclusion,although I accept things may occasionally become a little complicated due to technology,overall technology has enabled people to live much simpler lives.