'The life lessons that I learned in Mr. Chaney's class' - Intellectual Development

Hi. So I just wrote this essay today, and it is due tomorrow by midnight so any feedback that is receieved before then will be greatly appreciated. Prompt is Reflect on an idea or experience that has been important to your intellectual development.

Walking into his class first period was always exciting last year. The days were never dull and interesting topics always were brought up as we listened to the morning announcements. Then one day, Mr. Chaney sent us all out since we were being extremely loud. The whole class stood outside until it was dead silent and not a word was spoken as we entered the classroom. Just as we began to sit down, Mr. Chaney sent us outside again. The whole process was repeated a few times, despite the fact that it was dead silent. As the class entered for the fifth time, we expected the process to finally end. That attempt had been the best yet. But to everyone's dismay, Mr. Chaney sent the class out again. My friend Samantha and I, at that moment decided we were not going to listen. We stood in front of our desks and just watched as everyone else walked out. A few stragglers saw that we were remaining inside, and decided to join us. As the room cleared, about fifteen kids had joined us by staying inside. The rest looked from the window with expressions of confusion and disbelief. We were directly disobeying the teacher, and yet there was no hesitation in the decision. As Mr. Chaney saw us standing there he exclaimed "About time you guys finally realized!"

Mr. Chaney had been testing my class to see how many tries it took for the class to stand up against him. He then went into this huge lecture about how it is acceptable to stand up for personal beliefs, and that sometimes authority must be defied. If new ideas are not established there will never be progress. I took his words to heart, and realized that people do need stand up to authority and be individuals. It is through this practice that diversity is established. Through this class I learned to cherish my individuality, as well as to defend my beliefs right down to the core, no matter who questioned them. The life lessons that I learned in Mr. Chaney's class last year will never be forgotten.