Limit absurd contents from children viewing - filtering the Internet access at home as a solution

The widespread use of the Internet has brought many problems. What do you think are the main problems associated with the use of the web? What solutions can you suggest?

During the past few decades, the use of the Internet has increased tremendously, changing the way people do things in their everyday lives. Although the use of the web has numerous benefits, it is undeniable that it also brings negative impacts on our society.

Firstly, with the help of the Internet, people can access pornography and offensive contents just with one click. This extensive exposure to inappropriate media might lead vulnerable youngsters to undesirable thoughts or even to commit crimes. Moreover, the web has adverse effects on working adults too. It can be seen that many employees nowadays are surfing the net for contents that are irrelevant to work during the office hour. As a result, they become less productive and often not able to finish their work on time. Last but not least, the Internet is sometimes a great source of rumours. For example, recently, there was a rumour on the net that an Islamic group burnt down a Buddhist's house in Myanmar. This small rumour sparked serious conflicts between the two religions and there have been continuous fights between them until now.

One obvious solution to limit absurd contents from children viewing is for parents to filter the Internet access at home. This can easily be done by using high technologies available today. The government also should take part in censorship of media as well. In workplace, employee should be educated and persuaded to use the web only for job related research. Besides, employers can also block the most common social websites, such as facebook. Another way to tackle with problem the Internet brings is for the government to set up a transparent channel for information flow. By this, I mean there should be more debates and discussions on the topics that are popular on the web. By doing so, citizens will be able to understand the situation more clearly and can differentiate between rumours and true information.

In conclusion, despite all the above drawbacks of the Internet, if we take counter measurements to these problems, on both individual level and government level, I believe the Internet would be a wonderful tool.