IELTS TASK2 - limit the use of cars

Car Pollutants problem

TOPIC: THE INCREASE OF CARS IS POLLUTING THE EARTH AND IS DETRIMENTAL TO HUMAN HEALTH. THEREFORE, WE SHOULD STOP USING CARS SO AS TO MAKE US HEALTHIER. DO YOU AGREE?

Across the globe, the overuse of cars is causing environmental problems which are directly harmful to people's health, while there are some opinions clamming that we should stop using cars to improve people's health. From my perspective, this is not a good way due to some reasons.

As awareness of protecting the environment is on the rise, we often regard the exhaust gas emitted by cars as the culprit of air pollution. What we must focus on, however, is the unscrupulous factories and the lack of environmental policies. For instance, factory emissions contribute greatly to the release of harmful fumes such as carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which not only reduces air quality but also brings the acid rain that will affect ocean ecology. That is to say, the ban on those factories should be prioritized in order to keep air pollution at bay.

It is also noteworthy that if we limit the use of cars, those who need to drive to work, because they have to spend more time commuting such as taking train or bus, will appear less energetic at work, meaning that it is likely to cause a decline in the productivity of the company or even the country. In other words, to achieve a balance between economy and environment, what we should do is to reduce car usage instead of prohibiting the use of cars.

All in all, although the environment has become worse, we cannot limit the use of cars since it will thus affect the national economy. Moreover, there are other ways to improve air pollution such as banning the factories that emit toxic fumes.